[Quick] Asian Chicken Cabbage Salad

Asain Chicken Cabbage Salad

We’re in a season of life right now where there are a lot of activities happening from 3:30 to 5:30 a few days a week, which really cuts into my dinner prep time. So I thought I’d take a few days and share with you some of the quicker recipes I’ve found to save us from the “we’ll just pick something up” trap. I picked up most of the ingredients for this meal at Trader Joe’s because they have a lot of the stuff all ready to go. From start to finish, I’d say this took a little less than 10 minutes to throw together. I might double it next time because everyone [even the kids!] enjoyed it so much.

The recipe is inspired by this one from Bon Appetit so you get to feel a little fancy.

Asian Chicken Cabbage Salad
Serves 4

2 tablespoons canola oil
juice from 2 small limes
2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon roasted red chili paste
salt & pepper

1 bag shredded cabbage
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1/8 cup green onions, chopped
1 cup baby spinach
1/3 cup cilantro, chopped
1 rotisserie chicken breast, shredded
1/4 cup toasted sunflower seeds

In a large bowl, whisk together the oils, limes, soy sauce, and paste. Add the cabbage, carrots, onions, spinach, cilantro, chicken, and sunflower seeds on top and mix together to make sure all the greens are coated. Serve and enjoy.

If you want to pump up the vegetable volume, some steamed broccoli would be nice in this too. Or if you double it, try one bag of shredded cabbage and one bag of shredded brussels sprouts. I highly recommend you don’t skip the toasted sesame oil [so, so good].

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “[Quick] Asian Chicken Cabbage Salad

  1. Yum! I’ve been eating something a little like this, with SUNBUTTER in the dressing. And slivered almonds. And probably crack because I can’t stop eating it!

hey you! leave a comment!