Entryway Key Storage

My New Year’s Resolution this year was to stop being bugged by stuff. I never make resolutions but I felt pretty strongly about this. As a stay-at-home mom, you spend so.many.hours staring at the same set of walls. Especially in the winter. Especially when you have babies that have to be home to nap. And [I think] like most everyone, there are tons of little things around the house that annoy me. So 2015 is the year I’m going to try to either stop obsessing over things I can’t change and deal with them. Like laundry. JK. Sort of JK. Or I’m going to try to come up with ways to fix the things that do bug me. I feel like this is doable. This is achievable. I can wear work out clothes while doing this without actually having to work out. This is good.

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I spruced up the playroom we have.

playroom mantle / hey, beth baker!

It has been gleefully de-bugged.

This week I set my sights on the key hooks that hang just next to our door.

key ledge

This was actually one of the first things we bought for our house. It seemed a necessity. But there were a couple things that made my eye twitch. It just looked messy all the time. And it was a shelf right next to the door. So when my sweet children accidentally shut the door too hard it would rain tchotchkes like manna. The shelf wasn’t really our style anymore.

key 2

The dilemma came in the project of the timing. I just started one of these No Spend Month challenges a few days ago. I think it’s a really neat way to kind of reset our budget for the upcoming year and find a good base. But I didn’t want to sway from the challenge. So I went to the basement to see what I could find.

photo 1_001

I bought this shadow box at the thrift store a while back because it was a veritable blank slate of possibilities. I used a tinted stain we already owned to give it that rich blue color and drew the design on with an oil-based paint marker. I searched etsy for inspiration for the phrase.

key4

The arch print is from my glory college days where I had both the time and money to develop my own black and white prints. It’s a scene from the College of William & Mary. The clipboard up top originally came from the dollar store but had been hanging out in the basement for a while. I found a map of the University of Missouri campus online and changed the colors to match the room.

photo 3

The shadow box is attached the wall on a hinge I found on my husband’s tool bench. I re-used the hooks from the shelf under the shadow box so they’re still in the same place but hidden. It’s like magic. Housewife magic.

key3

photo

I bought a wire basket to stash shoes by the door and cleared away a lot of coat bulk from the hooks we have.

photo_001

Coupled with the gallery wall updating I did a couple weeks ago, it feels like a new room! Baby likes.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Entryway Key Storage

  1. Love your fireplace! Have you considered painting around the wood circles in a dark brown? It may look more 3d. And your baby is a cutie!

  2. Jessica Lee says:

    I love the shadowbox covering the keys! How genius!!

hey you! leave a comment!

