How Tall Am I? // Family Game Night [And A Giveaway!]

My husband and I put board games on our wedding registry. We took Boggle on our honeymoon [nerd alert :)]. We are big, big fans of board games. When we had kids, I just sort of assumed that as soon as they hit preschool age we’d be elbow-deep in Candy Land and Don’t Break The Ice. But wouldn’t you know it, my kids don’t like Candy Land. I figured we would just need to wait for them to get a little older and try again, but Landon’s occupational therapist said she thought board games would be a great way to get him used to having longer social interactions. So I went on the lookout for a board game that everyone in the family would like AND would hold the attention of my three-year-old autistic son. No big deal. ;)

Family Game Night

[She’s celebrating a Sequence Letters victory a bit prematurely. Hehe.]

We already owned a game called Sequence Letters that we played during our “school” time with Lucy and she really enjoyed it. It’s a little much for Landon since he doesn’t know any letters yet, so I started looking at other games the company made to see if any looked appealing.

“How Tall Am I?” stood out because our kids [most kids] love to measure things. Any sort of thing. All the time.

How Tall Am I? // Pre-school Aged Family Game Night

The premise of the game is super easy and the included pieces are super cute. There’s a die to roll and it tells you which part of the body you get to pick that turn. You can mix and match the cardboard pieces to make some pretty silly characters.

How Tall Am I? // Pre-school Aged Family Game Night

We played this after dinner one night [don’t mind the piles of real life in the background]. Landon made a police clown ballerina. Recently diagnosed with autism, it’s hard to keep him engaged during group play. He’d much rather play trains in his room. To help him not get frustrated and fixated on the pieces lining up and staying perfectly together, I put down a little piece of drawer liner.

How Tall Am I? // Pre-school Aged Family Game Night

Once everyone gets all the pieces needed and their characters assembled, you can measure to see who made the tallest form. When it’s just me and Lucy we also mix up the rules to try to get the shortest, or even a specific height.

How Tall Am I? // Pre-school Aged Family Game Night

We did some guessing on how tall our characters would measure in her science notebook and she drew out the figure and the ruler. We even got to talk about different standards of measure since the ruler has inches on one side and centimeters on the other.

How Tall Am I? // Pre-school Aged Family Game Night

I can’t recommend this game enough. Anything that can engage two preschoolers without any fighting is a winner. Each round takes somewhere around five minutes for the four of us to play so it’s quick enough that no one feels like they’re waiting “forever” for their turn to come around again. I bought ours off amazon, but liked the game [and the company] so much I decided to ask them to sponsor a giveaway so that one of you could have your own “How Tall Am I?”! And they said yes!

To enter the giveaway, share this post via your favorite social media outlet [facebook, pinterest, etc.]. Then come back here and leave a comment telling me where you shared it and your email. If you share it two places, leave two comments. I’ll leave the giveaway open for a week and then use a random number generator to pick a winner!

How Tall Am I? // Preschool-Aged Family Game Night

Disclaimer: I purchased this game on my own and loved it so much I decided to ask the company, JAX games, if they’d like to give one away. The opinions on the game are all mine.

Tagged ,

11 thoughts on “How Tall Am I? // Family Game Night [And A Giveaway!]

  1. Kristy says:

    I have this game on my Amazon wish list! I bet Jack would love it. I shared on FB.

  2. Kristy says:

    I also pinned the link to the giveaway on Pinterest. :)

  3. Nikki says:

    I put this on facebook, Beth. And I wanna win.

  4. Jen Bearden says:

    Sharing on Facebook. :)

  5. Christina aka mommalovescookin' says:

    I pinned this

  6. Angela says:

    Sharing on FB!

  7. Christina aka mommalovescookin' says:

    Shared on FB ;-)

  8. Christina aka mommalovescookin' says:

    Yep, you got it….Tweet Tweet, also shared via Twitter!

  9. Katie says:

    Shared on FB! Oh, and I need this game in my life. :)

  10. beth k says:

    Hey Beth! LOVE this! Haven’t ever played but am a HUGE fan of board games. I often wonder if the rise of technology to replace board games is what’s making our students skills weaker in many ways. Hope to wok one for the kiddos. Posted on fb!

  11. beth k says:

    Also pinned on pinterest on my parenting ideas board. Also sent via text to my mom friends.

hey you! leave a comment!

