That Time Mindy Kaling Gave Me A Gut Check

So here’s a spoiler alert for your Sunday afternoon: My name is Beth. I am a nerd. I love to read.

I had to stop reading for a while because it felt like it was all I wanted to do. And I never want one hobby to be all-consuming. But I recently picked back up the book reading device and started reading through the list of books I made while I wasn’t reading [nerd alert].

On the list was Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns). It’s proving to be as funny as I hoped it would be. I think the book’s central message can somewhat be summed up by: “So you’re in high school and you’re kind of a nerd but you’re into cool stuff and that’s going to work out for you in the end. So be a good person and don’t do stupid stuff and, ultimately, with enough drive you’ll be able to achieve your dreams” [or something like that].

I’m reading the book. It’s funny. I’m laughing. And then all sudden she pulls out:

“I don’t think it should be socially acceptable for people to say they are “bad with names”. No one is bad with names. That is not a real thing. Not knowing people’s names isn’t a neurological condition: it’s a choice. You chose not to make learning people’s names a priority. It’s like saying, “Hey, a disclaimer about me: I’m rude.”

Woah, Mindy.

Woah.

Mindy Kaling Gut Check | hey, beth baker!

Tagged ,

hey you! leave a comment!

