Roasted Carrot Soup [ & This Week’s Meal Plan]

It’s been a month since we welcomed Cohen into our family. I know it’s my third baby, so I should know the drill, but I’m a bit impatient and ready to “feel like myself” again. In an effort to get back to our routine, I made a meal plan for this week. The hardest part was sticking to it and not waiting until 5 o’clock to start something. I was not successful on having the meals on the planned days, so I just crossed them off as I made them [which has a definite added layer of satisfaction!].

20140110-191531.jpg

As written, here’s how our meals went.

Sunday: My favorite fish tacos. I didn’t want to grill so I put the fish foil pouches[it was pretty thin] in the oven at 400F for 7 minutes.

Monday: Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili. The recipe we tried was only “okay” so I won’t share it. I would love it if anyone has a chili recipe to share in the comments.

Tuesday: BBQ Chicken Sandwiches & Sweet Potato Fries. If you’ve never tried Stubb’s BBQ sauce, well, you’re welcome.

Wednesday: Chicken Pot Pie. Yum. I use my mom’s recipe but this time we did a drop biscuit crust because biscuits have a lower fat content than dough and I was looking for something a little lighter. It had been long enough since I’d baked something from scratch that after eating I marveled at how ingredients can come together to make something so delicious. Oh dear.

Thursday: Roasted Carrot Soup & Cauliflower poppers

Friday: Quinoa & Roasted Veggies. We roasted the rest of the butternut squash that didn’t go in our soup, some sweet potatoes, and some edamame. It went on top of the quinoa and we sprinkled on a little cheese as a topping.

Saturday: Pizza! I’ll be honest: it was frozen and it was delicious.

For the Roasted Carrot Soup, I used this recipe for my inspiration. To make it healthier [and dairy-free] we switched it up a bit.

roasted carrot soup | hey, beth baker!

Roasted Carrot Soup
Serves 6+

3 lbs carrots, peeled and chopped
1/2 head cauliflower, chopped to florets
[sprinkled with nooch, paprika, garlic powder, salt! and pepper]
1 red pepper, roughly diced
1 medium onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2-3 tablespoons coconut oil, separated and melted
5 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup light coconut milk
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon cardamom
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425F.
Use one tablespoon of melted coconut oil to coat the veggies and sprinkle with desired seasonings. Bake for 25 minutes or until fork tender.

Heat up the remaining coconut oil in a dutch oven and add the onions. Saute over medium high heat until onions are nearly translucent. Add the garlic and saute for another minute or so. Add the chicken broth and seasonings. As it begins to boil, turn the heat to low. When the carrots, cauliflower, and red pepper are finished, add them in. Add in the coconut milk. Use an immersion blender to make it as smooth as you’d like.

roasted carrot soup | hey, beth baker!

hey you! leave a comment!

