Bacon Avocado Kale Pizza

You guys, we’re friends and we joke around a lot but woah. Woah. About this I do not joke.

Bacon. Avocado. Kale. Pizzzzzzzzzzzzzza.

I’ll be honest about two things. First, pregnancy is doing something to my taste buds and they have not been appreciating my cooking as of late. Also, it’s funny to me that I share both cooking and baking recipes on this blog because I am a “little of this, little of that” cook and a baker who rarely bakes a recipe the same way twice. Now that those dirty little secrets are off my chest, lets get on to the good stuff.

The so, so very good stuff.

Here’s my go to pizza crust. It’s my favorite because it only rises for ten minutes. There’s no need to start dinner early.

When you make that crust, you’ll have enough for two medium sized pizzas. For the first one I made a pineapple pizza. I threw some bacon on a cookie sheet to pre-bake a bit for ten minutes while the pineapple pizza was baking.. During that time I also sliced my avocado [pretty thin] and got some kale out of the garden. You won’t need much for this recipe, one stalk. Remove from the stem and tear up into smaller pieces. Put it in a bowl and drizzle it with a teaspoon or so of olive oil. And then… massage the kale. No, for real. Make sure each piece of kale is covered in olive oil. Give it a little massage so that it softens up and gets all shiny.

To assemble the pizza, just spread your dough out and cover it with your favorite marinara and cheese. Add almost all of the avocado and as much kale as your heart desires. Top it all off with the bacon that you’ve torn into smaller pieces and bake as usual [17 minutes is our magic number].

#bacon #avocado #kale PIZZA! | hey, beth baker!

Bacon Avocado Kale Pizza
8 slices

1 avocado, sliced thin
I stalk kale, massaged in olive oil
3-4 pieces of bacon, pre-baked for 10 minutes
1/2-3/4 cup marinara
3/4-1 cup cheese [we used a skim colby because it’s what was in the fridge]
1 prepared pizza crust

Tagged

7 thoughts on “Bacon Avocado Kale Pizza

  1. Bridgett says:

    Beth, I looked at your pizza crust recipe and it calls for all purpose flour, what do you use for flour so that it is gluten/wheat free??

  2. Bacon AND avocado?? This sounds utterly amazing!

  3. My husband doesn’t like my cooking lately either…maybe he is pregnant and that is his problem. (Have you seen the movie Junior? I wouldn’t advise it, but this comment made me think of it).

hey you! leave a comment!

