What We Ate: Farmers Market Salad

With each passing week the bounty at the farmers market grows more diverse. Last weekend I picked up a beautiful bunch of beets, the memory of their grandeur still fresh on my mind from last summer. And I got them home. And then I thought, “How in the world did I used to cook these to enjoy them so much!?” I know I used them instead of sweet potatoes in our veggie burgers. And I know I like them roasted [but that seemed easy. And hot. I don’t want to turn the oven on.]

So I threw them in the food processor and made a salad.

20130620-104117.jpg

It was super great, actually.

You’ll only need about 1/4 to 1/2 of a beet. Let your food processor do all the work [or use your grater if you’re old fashioned]. I also threw in a big handful off baby carrots, to be grated.

For the salad I used a mix of baby kale, baby chard, and baby spinach. I had a handful of the first harvest of the english peas from my backyard garden so I threw those in too. I added a big handful of sunflower seeds on top of it all to garnish.

Farmers Market Salad
Large Bowl of Salad Mix

1/4 to 1/2 beet, end removed and skin peeled
1/8 to 1/4 cup baby carrots, or 2 medium sized

1/8 to 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/8 cup raw english peas

Raw beets and raw carrots are super complimentary. They both bring a nice earthy sweetness.

To make the dressing, I used the same food processor and dumped in 1/2 of a avocado, the juice of one lime, a couple tablespoons of grape seed oil, a couple tablespoons of honey, a handful of cilantro, and a pinch of salt.

Avocado Lime Cilantro Dressing
1/2 avocado
juice of 1 lime
2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
2 tablespoons olive oil
cilantro, to taste
pinch of salt

We enjoyed it. It was a fresh and light salad, for sure.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “What We Ate: Farmers Market Salad

  1. I just love fresh salad and have it every day , going to try your recipe soon.

  2. If you are daring here is a “Not Tomato Sauce” that I developed with beets. I am sure that the fresh ones would be amazing. I also make it in the crock pot now and let it cook all day. They would definitely cook like that. I just add a bit more water.

    http://dorothyinman.blogspot.com/2012/06/to-tomato-or-not-tomato-that-is.html

hey you! leave a comment!

