Fish Tacos

Chuck and I have been married for nearly seven years! And during those seven years there’s one food I’ve never made. One food that had me convinced it was not within my repertoire: fish! I was afraid, my friends.

But when I was visiting my mom early this spring she made some fish tacos that had us all begging for more and I knew I had to give it a go. Anybody else scared to make fish at home [let’s be honest: it only takes one fishy fish experience to make you weary]?

fish tacos | hey, beth baker!

So here’s our fish story: We started with some frozen tilipia from Trader Joe’s. I can also highly recommend the frozen mahi from Publix, but any white fish will probably work. De-thaw, either by bringing it to the fridge a day early or letting it hang out in some cold water.

Heat your grill to high. While it’s warming up, get a piece of aluminum foil a little bit bigger than twice the width of your fish. Put the fish on top of the foil, to one side, so that you can fold the foil over on top of the fish later.

Top the fish with olive oil and your choice of seasonings. Since we were going for fish tacos I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, chipotle chili powder, and basil. Once I’d sprinkled everything on I massaged the olive oil in a bit to make sure everything was covered.

Then you’ll want to fold your foil on top and roll up the edges. When the grill is ready, add your fish packet and grill for 10 minutes. That’s it! I used two forks to shred ours and make it taco friendly.

Do not fear the fish!

fish tacos | hey, beth baker!

To top our tacos we had some gaucamole, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, black beans, plain greek yogurt [in lieu of sour cream], and salsa. I always overstuff my tacos and make a huge mess. Always.

fish tacos | hey, beth baker!

We gave Landon his toppings in a bowl to avoid toddler taco frustration and he had fourths of the fish. Considering he’s the boy who wouldn’t eat any meat a month ago, I was beyond thrilled!

fish tacos | hey, beth baker!

Lucy really wants to be like the adults so she did her best to eat her smaller corn tortillas like a champ.

fish tacos | hey, beth baker!

Enjoy!

fish tacos | hey, beth baker!

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Fish Tacos

  1. Fish tacos are one of my new absolute favorite meals…although my family doesn’t feel the same. We should try to grill them next time. Perhaps that will give them a new take.

  2. mommalovescookin says:

    Ok, maybe? I will try fish tacos one more time…it is the ONLY way anyone will even eat fish around here, and at that it is sketchy at best :-s. I WISH we all loved fish…but alas most of us do not! But maybe, just maybe?

hey you! leave a comment!

