Grilled Veggie Egg Scrambler

We live in an old house where the kitchen ventilation system consists of me opening a window. It’s true. So in the summer when I turn the oven on in the afternoon, it feels like the Fires of Hell are concentrating their heat on my workspace. Not to be dramatic or anything…

If it all possible, when the temps tip up into the melt my kitchen [and my heart – I like it hot!] range on the thermometer we’re finding ways to keep the oven off. This little number fits the bill, and it packs in two veggies, a fruit, and some protein.

Grilled Veggie Egg Scrambler
Serves 4

1 head of cauliflower [olive oil, garlic powder, chipotle chili powder, paprika, salt, & pepper]
3 small zucchini, diced
3 to 4 Roma tomatoes, diced
6 eggs, whisked
Parmesan
salt & pepper

Start by heating up the grill. Next, chop up your cauliflower into bite size florets. Put the cauliflower in a bowl or bag and add a tablespoon or so of olive oil. Sprinkle on the other seasonings and stir or shake to coat.

cauliflower and seasonings

Your grill should be pretty warm. Mine heats up to about 500F when I set it between 4 and 5 but I know all grills are different. I should also note that our grill uses infrared heat so you might need to put foil under your veggie basket to try to distribute the heat some.

grilling veggies

I want to be real with you. Sometimes the wind blows the flame of the grill out and the gas stays on and builds up under the dome. When you go out to open the grill and the gas has been building, you may open the dome and release a small fireball. Because of this, I didn’t have hair on my right forearm for most of last summer. So now I diligently check it. And, when he’s available, I send the husband out first. Men don’t need eyebrows…

my grill hero

Even better if he’s wearing a tie while grilling. I’m getting off track.

I usually give cauliflower about 15 minutes, stir it, and then give it another 10. It doesn’t have all of the thrill of oven roasted cauliflower poppers, but it certainly comes close.

grilled cauliflower

During the first 15 minutes of cauliflower cooking, I chop up the zucchini. Heat enough olive oil to coat the bottom of your pan. When the oil is hot, add the zucchini and season it with salt and pepper. After you’ve pan seared the zucchini just a bit, you can add a little water [very little, like 1/8 of a cup – the squash will release water when it cooks] and cover it with a lid. Stir it a few times. When it’s fork tender, set it aside in a bowl.

Next add your whisked eggs, salt, and pepper and scramble them up [move the spatula around to make sure none stick to the bottom. Cook them until they’re as runny or dry as your heart desires, and then add the zucchini and chopped tomatoes.

I usually cook the eggs when my cauliflower is just about finished. When the cauliflower comes off the grill, I add it in and top the whole skillet with some Parmesan cheese. So good.

grilled veggie scrambler

If your grill is big enough, you could grill the zucchini in a separate basket. I’m not sure if it’s because we hadn’t had scrambled eggs in almost two years [for real] but we inhaled this. It was simple, quick, and satisfying.

If you want to go vegan, I think this would make a good tofu scramble. If you want to go in the opposite direction, I think sausage would be amazing in here. Either way, everybody wins.

One thought on “Grilled Veggie Egg Scrambler

hey you! leave a comment!

