Advice From My Dad

My dad is a pretty smart guy. He’s that guy that can hold a conversation with juuuust about anybody. He works super hard. He’s pretty much the first call I make when something breaks and Chuck can’t fix it [that’s right; Dad trumps Google]. He’s been on my mind lately because he just accepted this awesome job to be something super important sounding [Global Director of Energy, I think]. But really, I’m most excited because the job is bringing my parents closer to us. Still far, but closer. So here are some nuggets from my Dad.

*Don’t play like a girl. Play like that girl all the guys are afraid to play.

tug o' war

[My mom is going to kill me when she sees this picture. That’s my mom in the purple (she’s always been my biggest fan). That’s my brother at the front with the navy mesh shirt. My dad is the mustached Arabic man whispering words of encouragement. And there I am. The only gal on the tug o’ war line sporting the orange tank.]

*Math isn’t that hard. Get over it. [Said with love while I cried over a C on an Algebra test.]

*No blood, no foul. And no crying, even if there is blood. I only want to know about it if you think you’re going to die or are in need of serious medical attention.

vacay with the 'rents

[I feel like these all sound cold-hearted but I’m cracking up thinking of them. My dad is a big teddy bear. A big, no-nonsense teddy bear.]

*Don’t write negative things. You’ll only write it once but there’s no limit to how many times the receiver might read it. Or what they might do with it. Or how they might interpret it.

*In a “Get Well Soon” greeting card: “Dear Beth, You are so beautiful. Braces are not the end of the world. You won’t have them forever. Love, Dad.” [Talk about sandwiching the compliment!]

b and d

*Your mom is the smartest, most beautiful, and hard working woman I know. And she’s the reason I am who I am today.

waterfall with m and d

*If you don’t like it, change it.

*Don’t complain about things you can’t change. [This was in the same breath where he told me it was interesting to have thick, frizzy hair because that’s how they used to judge humidity.]

dadandbwedding

Love you, Dad! I am so appreciative of your wisdom and so proud of you!

hey you! leave a comment!

