When You Feel Like Dancing

You guys, I don’t want to pretend life lately hasn’t presented us with a few challenges. It has been a whirlwind, for sure. But, and it always come back to this for me, having faith that this life is bigger than us has been the fuel for my soul. Better still, being surrounded by a community of believers to share faith and life with is major.

Wednesday nights we meet with our small group. A group of people from our church who we are learning and living beside. They’re sharing in our trials and our triumphs. They’re giving us meals and words of encouragement. And, they’re praying for us.

This Wednesday they surrounded us and laid hands on us. I held Landon in my arms while they prayed for him. He picked my nose and pulled my hair while they lifted him up to his true Father. And you know, at the end of it all, I just had this deep sense settled in my bottom of me. This sense that this, whatever it was that entangled him, was done. That it was taken care of. Honestly, I didn’t think much of it because I’ve felt a strong sense of peace through our whole endeavor with Landon’s seizures and consequent testing. Peace.

And so the next day when my phone told me that I didn’t have any missed calls but I did have a new voicemail [I reallllllly need a new phone], my breath caught as the voice of Landon’s neurologist came on.

“Mrs. Baker. I’m calling about Landon. All of the tests came back completely normal. We don’t even need to schedule a follow up visit. Everything is normal.”

Weeks of waiting and wondering. Weeks of close watching. Seconds of conclusion. Inexplicable [to some] healing. It’s done. We don’t need medical answers. We have The Answer. We don’t need to understand what caused the perfect storm of electrolyte imbalance, acidic blood, increased blood sugar. We just trust. And do a little dance. And say a prayer of thankfulness to all of our friends who lifted up a prayer for our son.

landon

And life goes on. And life is good. And God is great.

So here’s our meal plan for the week. Honestly, I’m sort of surprised we ate at all, the whole week was a bit of a blur.

meal planning | hey, beth baker!

Sunday: Leftover Sausage & Chard Soup from last week.
Monday: Our friends knew Tuesday was gonna be a long one so they fed us dinner and let Lu sleepover at their house!
Tuesday: Roasted veggies. We were all spent, but chopping up some broccoli and carrots was quick and satisfied everyone.
Wednesday: Chicken & Wild Rice. Sounds fancy, but it was a quick one. I picked up a rotisserie chicken and cooked the wild rice in my pressure cooker.
Thursday: Cheesy Pasta & Veggies [check out the recipe below].
Friday: Leftovers
Saturday: Carrot Cake Waffles

If you want to get your kids to eat tons of veggies, roast them and then cover them with cheese [Am I right!?]. Here’s the Cheesy Pasta and Veggies we have most often.

Cheesy Pasta & Veggies

Roast some veggies [we used broccoli, zucchini, peppers, and onions but you can add whatever you’ve got]. I usually cook them in a 425F oven for 35 minutes or so after I’ve sprinkled them with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

While your veggies are roasting, cook up some penne. For the cheese you can either make mac and cheese with your penne or dump in a brick of neufchatal [or cream] cheese. We like it both ways. If you’re using neufchatal you’ll want to add a cup or so of broth to make it a little creamier.

So I would add:
1 package neufchatal cheese
1 cup broth
1/4 cup balsamic vinaigrette [sun dried tomato dressing is also tasty in this]
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon dried basil or 1/2 cup of chopped fresh
salt and pepper, to taste

When it’s all stirred together I add in a few sliced Roma tomatoes [you could roast those too, but it changes their acidity so we like them raw]. To serve, we top it all off with a little Parmesan.

So simple. For summer we’ll stop roasting the veggies and throw them on the grill so we don’t heat up the house.

p.s. How great do the carrot cake waffles look!? You’d never know they were gluten-free and vegan [we use Pamela’s bread flour and brown sugar].

carrot cake waffles

Oh and we quadruple the recipe and add about twice the milk that it calls for. You heard me…

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “When You Feel Like Dancing

  1. I am so thankful that you heard good news about Landon. And am inspired by the peace you have. It’s funny that as a parent we always have to trust that God is watching over us and taking care of our kiddos, because let’s just face it, in this crazy, chaotic world (regardless of how much as a mother we don’t want it to be), nothing is in our control. Thank you that even in your terrible worst momma nightmare experience ever for reminding us that. PS I love that you have awesome friends to support you spiritually as well. I have found some days it is the only thing that keeps me going.

  2. mommalovescookin says:

    Go Jesus go!!!! Love this post SOOOOOOOO much! !

  3. Amani Lilton and Family says:

    Thank you God. My family and I spent so many nights praying and I just can’t even contain how happy I am for you all. Like literally crying and calling my mom at the same time! I am just ecstatic that everyone is happy, healthy, and covered by the grace of God!

hey you! leave a comment!

