Love Is A Decision

So I have a confession to make [Oh my gosh, I’m always confessing something]. I love Christian Fiction novels. They may sometimes get a little contrived or cheesy, but I just can’t help it. There’s nothing worse [for me] then picking up a book from the library and getting invested in the characters only to turn the page and get smacked in the face with some raucous reading [I’ve always been quick to blush]. So, I like them. And I think Chuck would rather me read them than the alternatively safe Young Adult Fiction. The poor guy is all vampired out, I’m afraid.

Recently, I was reading through a series by Karen Kingsbury and something one of the main characters said really resonated with me: Love Is a decision. It’s true in our marriages, our families, our friendships, even our jobs. It’s just truth. We’re called to it. We’re defined by it. We can aspire to it. Love gives us strength and courage. Strength when this season of life pulls you a little lower than you’d like. Courage when despair rises up or justice needs to be sought.

love is a decision | hey, beth baker!

Love means choosing to put the hard, frustrating things behind you and focus on the affirming, positive ones. Love is a decision to be happy where you are, with what you have. Love is steadfast. It’s permanent and imminent. Love.

“And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.” [1 Cor 13:2-3,7-8a]

love is a decision | hey, beth baker!

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Love Is A Decision

  1. Love it!!! Love you.. so true… I Cor 13 is one of my favorite verses….. and when we truly live it in our lives it shows!!!

  2. mommalovescookin says:

    My Mom said ALL.THE.TIME….love is a choice, every day you choose whom or what you will love! Whoa…seriously??? Now that I am older and hopefully wiser I totally GET what she meant! Truth sister…speak it! Also, I am a fan of above mentioned cheesy Christian romance novels too, so you are not alone in this…just downloaded about 20 free ones off Amazon yesterday :-) Get ’em while they are free, or don’t get them at all…my motto!

  3. Nikki says:

    You should read the book Love is a Decision, Beth. We got it as an engagement gift (and I fondly remember reading it side by side on a train ride to Prauge, CZ), and it has been so helpful in our marriage.

hey you! leave a comment!

