The Beeeeeest Brownies

I don’t say that lightly. I like to think of myself as a bit of a brownie connoisseur. So I’m here today to offer what I think are the two best brownie recipes. Ever. In the history of brownies. It’s that serious, y’all.

So I’m going to share the amazing gluten-free, vegan recipe that we enjoy presently and the ‘real food’ brownie treats of yore [sigh].

gluten-free, vegan brownies | hey, beth baker!

Gluten-free, Vegan Brownies
adapted from Babycakes
makes 16

1 cup garbanzo-fava bean flour
1/4 cup potato starch
2 tablespoons arrowroot
1/2 cup cocoa
1 cup vegan sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup applesauce, warmed
2 tablespoons vanilla
1/2 cup hot water
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease 8 or 9 inch brownie pan.

In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, starch, arrowroot, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, and salt. Add the oil, applesauce, vanilla, and hot water to the dry and stir until smooth. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Pour into greased pan. Bake 30-35 minutes. [I used a pre-heated stoneware 8 inch pan and needed about 32 minutes].

Use a toothpick to check for doneness [if you poke it in and it comes out clean]. If you want them to be a little gooey take them out a little early, if you want them fudgier leave them in the full time.

After you take them out of the oven leave them in the pan for at least 10 minutes. This is a great time to make a little brownie frosting. I mean if you’re going to make brownies why not go all out, right?!

gluten-free, vegan brownies | hey, beth baker!

Brownie Frosting
covers 1 batch

3 tablespoons butter [I used earth’s balance vegan sticks], softened
3 tablespoons cocoa
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup confectioners sugar

Use a mixer to cream the butter, cocoa, and sugar. Add in the honey and vanilla. If it’s thicker than you like add a milk of your preference one tablespoon at a time. Frost while still warm.

gluten-free, vegan brownies | hey, beth baker!

[This is how Lucy ate hers. Straight from the oven. Gooey with strawberries to dip. On her Dora plate. We made them together when Landon was napping and when he woke up she gave him a few bites. Melt.My.Heart.]

You will have to have a bit of patience to let the brownies set up before you enjoy them. If you try to take them out of the pan too soon you’ll get a goopy mess. I had some major concerns when I first dished these out because the middle looked like chocolate cake batter [I couldn’t convince Lucy it wasn’t] but after an hour or so they set up really nicely. They were moist and honestly, quite divine.

gluten-free, vegan brownies | hey, beth baker!

Before we became a [mostly] vegan and [sometimes] gluten-free family this was our go to recipe. We usually didn’t add the frosting to it because we didn’t need to. It’s one of those glorious brownie recipes that’s actually better than a boxed mix [is it just me or is that really hard to do]. And these brownies do that using only real ingredients, which you just won’t get with a box. I mean I’m not saying these are healthy, but I am saying if you want to enjoy a brownie every once in a while try these out.

Real Food Brownies
makes 16

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup cocoa
1/2 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease an 8 or 9 inch pan.

Melt 1/2 cup butter [I usually melt it in the microwave in a glass bowl that I’m planning on using as my mixing bowl]. Stir in the sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Beat in the dry ingredients.

Spread into your pan and bake for 25-30 minutes.

If you like, cover with frosting while the brownies are still warm.

gluten-free, vegan brownies | hey, beth baker!

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Beeeeeest Brownies

  1. mommalovescookin says:

    These are so super yummy…..aaaaaannnnddddd easy! I have made them too many times since you posted them :-/ But they are really really great! I have actually been using whole wheat flour, and once even used brown sugar when out of regular, and the were still Aaah – mazing!!!

  2. Roxanne says:

    I made these brownies last night for a BBQ today. They smell and look great, so I can’t wait to eat them! But I had to add coconut milk to the frosting – I think you must have written it wrong because it was WAY too thick for cake frosting, let alone brownie frosting.

  3. Roxanne says:

    They were yummy! I actually am going to make them again this weekend, but as cupcakes!
    But I think I’m still missing something on that frosting. Only 3 tablespoons of butter, and 1 cup of sugar??? How could you make it without adding milk? Mine was so dry. I used spectrum shortening, but I can’t see that as making a big difference.

    • heybethbaker says:

      Are you making the vegan ones? If so those work so, so well in a mini cupcake pan! They are like perfectly decadent little bite-size treats. I’m going to make up a batch of frosting to see if I can pass on any advice but I usually use my stand mixer to cream the butter with the cocoa and sugar (make sure you’re scooping the sugar into the measuring cup so it’s not too packed) and then add in the honey and vanilla. You may need to add a little milk but it would be like a tablespoon or two. I have to do that with my buttercream recipe depending on the weather. I’ll let you know how my batch whips up.

    • heybethbaker says:

      Made some tonight. I’m going to add in that you really need a good mixer to whip it. You could add the milk to thin it but I like to keep it a little thicker so that when I spread it on the warm brownies it doesn’t run too much. I bet it’s a personal preference and I say do whatever tastes good. :)

hey you! leave a comment!

