Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

Yesterday my sweet sister sent me her pumpkin bread recipe because she was going to make muffins out of it and wanted my opinion for a cooking time. And then my thoughts for the rest of the day were consumed with pumpkin muffins.

So when my sweet husband offered to go to BOTH of the grocery stores I needed to go to last night, I seized my opportunity and whipped up a batch. It’s always a game of baking roulette when you’re replacing more than one egg with flax “egg” but I’m happy [very happy] to report these muffins as winners.

vegan chocolate chip pumpkin muffins

Chocolate-Chip Pumpkin Spice Muffins
Adapted from my sister’s adaptation of this recipe [hehe]
Makes 15-18 muffins

1 cup spelt flour
1 cup oat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons ground allspice
1 1/2 cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup pumpkin purée
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup applesauce, warmed
2 flax eggs [2 T flax meal mixed with 6 T warm water. Let sit 5 min]
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3-1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Line muffin tins with paper cups. In a medium sized bowl whisk together flours, spice, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a large bowl add applesauce, flax eggs, coconut oil, vanilla, and pumpkin. Cream in the sugar. Add the dry to the wet. Fold in chocolate chips. Scoop batter into muffin cups, 2/3rds full. Bake for 20-25 minutes [I baked for 15, rotated my pans, and baked for 8 more].

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

vegan chocolate chip pumpkin muffins

They were a delicious compliment to this morning’s greek yogurt [sweetened with a little honey & brown sugar, topped with sunflower seeds, granola, & blueberries].

Kid verdict: They both liked them. Though Landon ate 2 and 1/2 and Lucy only ate 1/2 in an attempt to find as many chocolate chips as she could. She’s in this phase where her diet is consisting of broccoli, blueberries, vegan cheese, corn tortillas, strawberries, and rice cakes smeared with sunbutter.

vegan chocolate chip pumpkin muffins

Making the ‘more’ sign [sort of].

UPDATE: I’ve had success making these gluten-free by subbing the spelt flour with a cup of Bob’s Red Mill and 3/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum.

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Sometimes my favorite posts are the ones where I cannot decide with image to pin. Pin ’em all! [eater’s note: these are best when the chocolate is still molten, but that won’t be a problem, because you’ll want to eat all of them before it cools, anyway]

  2. sani panini says:

    Great pictures and great recipe!!

  3. Janele says:

    Are these the muffins from today?? AND baby Landon :), too much sweet.

    • heybethbaker says:

      I know. Baby Landon is a total heartbreaker. :) These are the muffins I made today. I followed this exactly switching out apple butter for the pumpkin and chopped apple for the chocolate chips. Yum. :) To make the topping I mixed 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats, and a tablespoon of butter to sprinkle on top.

hey you! leave a comment!

