Cooking With Coconut Oil [And A Giveaway!] – CLOSED

We are coconut oil fans in this family. When we switched to vegan baking and cooking to accommodate the kids’ allergies, coconut oil was a lifesaver.

I use them in my Apple Pie Muffins, Blackberry Lemon Chia Muffins, Campfire Cookies, Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Chocolate Cupcakes [we even tested it against our vegan butter with our graham crackers and the coconut oil won out]. You get the idea, we like our coconut oil.

So we recently had the opportunity to try out some Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil from Tropical Traditions. I’m no stranger to Tropical Traditions. My mom and my sister rave about them. When we all began this real food journey together they both switched to palm shortening and ditched the hydrogenated shortening we grew up with. We’re also big fans of the Rapunzel Cocoa they have [Such big fans that I got two cans for Christmas presents- yep!].

When people ask me about coconut oil they usually have two things holding them back: either they think it’s too expensive or they have no clue how to use it. So I thought this little opportunity from Tropical Traditions would be a good excuse to share my coco love.

coconut oil giveaway

So it’s true that coconut oil is going to be pricier than more traditional oils like canola or vegetable. But, if there’s one thing I’ve learned on my food journey it’s that good food should cost money. But you will save quite a bit of money buying coconut oil online instead of at the store. I have noticed that if you keep a look out Tropical Traditions runs various sales and free shipping deals.

coconut oil giveaway

What do you do with coconut oil? Well, kind of anything. You can replace your cooking oils and baking fats pretty seamlessly. I mentioned above that nearly all of our baked goods use coconut oil but we also use it for a lot of our veggies. I like that it adds a deeper flavor than some more neutral oils. My favorite dishes to use it on are sauteed green beans and roasted veggies.

roasting veggies with coconut oil

One of our go to meals when I need something that doesn’t require a lot of imagination but does leave us with full bellies is roasted veggies with quinoa. It’s also a great way to use up veggies that are on their last leg. That, my friends, is a triple win.

roasted veggies with quinoa

Chop up whatever’s handy [we used mushrooms, broccoli, red and yellow peppers, carrots, onions, and zucchini]. We try to eat a lot of veggies. Here’s a good calculator to see how many you should eat a day. While the veggies are roasting [I put them in at 425 for 25 minutes or so] I make some quinoa. I like to make our quinoa in broth, everyone seems to like it best that way.

roasted veggies with quinoa

Comparing this coconut oil to the one we usually use I could definitely notice a difference. This is the only coconut oil on the market still produced by hand and it’s definitely smoother and less crumbly. And I loved the idea of supporting small scale family farmers.

So, Tropical Traditions has given me the opportunity to sponsor a giveaway of their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil!

To enter the giveaway, Tropical Traditions has asked that you go here and subscribe to their sales newsletter. You’ll also need to share this post by way of facebook, pinterest, twitter, or whatever your favorite way of social network expression may be. That’s it; nothing too crazy!

After you do those two things leave a comment here and you’re entered to win! The giveaway ends Wednesday, January 30th at 10 p.m. CST.

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product. Additionally, if you order by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from Tropical Traditions in the past, you will receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.

Tagged ,

42 thoughts on “Cooking With Coconut Oil [And A Giveaway!] – CLOSED

  1. Katie B says:

    I would love to give this a try!! I hope I win!

  2. I love coconut oil – it has so many uses!

  3. I would love some of this coconut oil :)

  4. Jennifer says:

    I also use my coconut oil as moisturizer for my whole family and makeup remover for myself. Works great for shaving and as a deep conditioner for hair too. I haven’t tried this brand yet, but would love to.

  5. Angela says:

    ALMOST bought some coconut oil at the store the other day!

  6. Kristy says:

    I love Tropical Traditions! Great giveaway!

  7. Holly says:

    Me, Me! I did it! I have completed the minimum requirements and now I would appreciate some free coconut oil, please! ;)

  8. Melonnie Murphy says:

    I have been wanting to try coconut oil every since I saw “Food Matters”. I am one of the people who haven’t bought it because it is too expensive. Hoping to win! Excited for you Beth! Your first giveaway!

  9. Amanda says:

    I am a vegan and have never tried it! I would love to.

  10. mommalovescookin says:

    Ooooo…oooooo…me me!! Just bought some, but I use it for multiple purposes, so it goes quickly around here. Body butter anyone?? LOVE coconut oil!!!

  11. Coconut oil is my fave! It makes such amazingly delicious roasted veggies.

  12. elenavo says:

    Thanks for the generous giveaway! I am a subscriber and have shared the giveaway here: https://www.facebook.com/elena.vo.560/posts/1259698650835737

  13. It is some great coconut oil…. love it!!!

  14. Kristen says:

    I subscribe and pinned the post.

  15. Marti Lopshire says:

    We use this every day in our family! Wonderful product! And I’m almost out! I’d love a free jar! ;)

  16. Mariana says:

    I LOVE IT, THANK YOU!

  17. AB Smith says:

    signed up and shared on twitter https://twitter.com/MojoandKarma/status/294842646197850113

    thanks for the chance!

  18. Claire says:

    I subscribe.

  19. purplelarkspur says:

    I subscribe to the newsletter already, and I Tweeted! https://mobile.twitter.com/PurpleLarkspur/status/294874006316802048

  20. Blessed Assurance says:

    I subscibe to the newsletter.

  21. Kathleen says:

    Entered your contest. Can’t wait to read over your blog and the newsletter. Very excited to find this site.

  22. Deborah says:

    I subscribe to Tropical Traditons newsletter and I shared this giveaway on Facebook!

  23. Rhonda says:

    I’ve been looking for ‘the right’ coconut oil to replace my storebought version that is fairly pricey. I’d love to try the gold version of tropical traditions coconut oil in my homemade candy. Easy melt dark chocolate chips with a little coconut oil and spread on lined pan, then process unsweetened coconut with a little bit of powdered sugar and a tiny bit of coconut oil til its workable, then put more chocolate on top. homemade mounds bar YUM

  24. Jennifer Close says:

    subscribed and shared

  25. Kathleen M Smith says:

    I subscribe to their newsletter and shared on fb, twitter, Pinterest and G+

  26. Mariana says:

    Wonderful Giveway,thank you!

  27. Rachael B says:

    I already subscribe to their newsletter and I pinned this post! Here’s hoping! I have been wanting to try the gold label.. heard so much about it online. Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Beth says:

    I’m subscribed and Tweeted:

    rollerbeth at gmail dot com

  29. Thanks for a great idea for using coconut oil–signed up for their newsletter! n.snaer at gmail dot com

  30. I follow their newsletter. Awesome giveaway and thanks!

  31. .ambre. says:

    I did it! Shared on FB ans subscribed.

  32. I subscribe to TT’s newsletter and tweeted about the giveaway! https://twitter.com/j_mosh/status/296074373981409280

    I’d love to try coconut oil. Thanks for the chance :)

  33. Kathleen D. says:

    Thanks for the giveaway!! I am signed up for their newsletter and I tweeted:

  34. Jenny D says:

    I subscribe to the TT newsletter and shared this giveaway on Facebook! :)

  35. Tammy says:

    I love coconut oil but haven’t had the priviledge of trying Tropical Traditions brand. Hope I win!!!

  36. cryss says:

    I use coconut oil as a moisturize and hot oil treatment for my hair. It is amazing in the hair, leave it in for a few hours or overnight and then wash out. My hair is fine so I have to wash out twice… the end result is incredibly soft hair!!

    I subscribe to their newsletter crystalmarieporter [at] gmail dot com

  37. Kama says:

    I did both things and want to win!! :)

  38. I’m a subscriber at jessica (at) allergictoair (dot) com

  39. amani says:

    yayyyy ive entered!!!! i shared via pin. :)

  40. Melissa says:

    Would love love love the coconut oil prize. Haven’t tried Tropical Traditions yet, but I do like to use coconut oil. I subscribed and tweeted.

  41. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and the rest of the site is also really good.

hey you! leave a comment!

