New Old Shoes

I found these shoes at the thrift store last week for 50 cents. That’s right, you heard me. 50 cents for a pair of scarcely worn Janie & Jack shoes from the Spring ’12 line. They weren’t perfect though. They had some blue scuff marks on the cream satin. And they were cream satin. Am I the only one that doesn’t want to put white or cream shoes on my toddler?

giving marked up shoes a second life.

So the first thing I did was throw the shoes in my washing machine. I mean, if they didn’t survive I’m only out 50 cents and if they do they’ll smell fresh and clean and brand new [definitely skip the dryer, though].

giving marked up shoes a second life.

Next I took some painter’s tape and taped off the leather sole. I used my finger nail to make sure I got the tape tight against the sole and close to the fabric.

giving marked up shoes a second life.

I used Martha Stewart’s Wild Blueberry acrylic paint for the project. I went with acrylic because I wanted it to be able to stand up to the elements and since they’re shoes I don’t need to worry about how stiff the paint will make the fabric.

giving marked up shoes a second life.

The satin was a great material to work with because it took the paint well. I only needed to make sure I didn’t use too much paint. I started under the bow and then painted the bow and around to the back of the shoe, leaving the strap for last.

I think these would look awesome with a contrasting color on the bow, but that idea was vetoed by the toddler.

giving marked up shoes a second life.

Now I’m looking at all of Lucy’s shoes wondering if I could give some others a sprucing.

p.s. I saw this idea of mod podge-ing fabric onto scuffed toddler shoes a while back. Maybe I’ll have to give it a go.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “New Old Shoes

  1. Cousin Reva says:

    You are fantastic Beth Baker!

  2. mommalovescookin says:

    I LOVE THIS ….soooooooo much! Hmmmmmm….

hey you! leave a comment!

