This Week’s Meal Plan & Blackberry Lemon Muffins

real food meal plan

Sunday: We had a Christmas party at church that included a pot luck. Yum.
Monday: Roasted Cauliflower and Spaghetti. So good. So simple. Why not fill your pasta dishes with veggies. I’ll have to photograph and share this recipe soon but I will say it included these roasted mushrooms. Oh.My.
Tuesday: JtB’s French Onion Soup Sandwiches. I’m normally a big Joy the Baker fan but this felt like diner food to me, and not in a good way. The onions were cooked in a bit of fat and I felt like it was coming out of my pores that night. Not a winner for us, but I know others enjoy it.
Wednesday: I whined about those sandwiches all day and devoted Wednesday to diner food detox. Salads: spinach, carrots, tomatoes, sunflower seeds, and balsamic.
Thursday: It was my husband’s birthday so he chose to eat at Chipotle. We both got vegetarian burritos with brown rice, green peppers, red onions, black beans, corn salsa, tomato salsa, guacamole, and cheese. Mmm. Thankful mexican is allergy friendly!
Friday: We kept up the theme with mexican and salads. Chuck made a concoction that involved mashing up an avocado and mixing it with corn and black bean salsa. He then added spinach and sliced mushrooms and ate it with tortilla chips. I can’t lie, I was jealous I didn’t think of it.
Saturday: Veggie Pot Pie I’m hoping to set a new number of veggies per dish record. Double digits. Nerd alert.

Can I tell you a secret? I have major anxiety about cooking and baking for other people. In fact, I even have anxiety about sharing recipes. This is heightened when I share vegan recipes because they’re fickle and demanding and sometimes you can do everything exactly like you’ve done it a thousand times before and it doesn’t come out right. Grumble. And there’s the fact that I’m definitely a “feel it” baker. It used to annoy me so much when I would ask my mom how she made something and she would say, “Well, some of this and a little of that. I can’t tell you how much, you just have to add it until it looks right.”

But then there’s this other side of me that tells that wimpy, whiny side to suck it up. I’m trying to do something here. I’m trying to share something that’s important to me. So here I am, sharing a recipe.

Blackberry Lemon Chia Muffins

lemon blackberry muffins with cia [ gluten-free and vegan]

1/2 cup almond milk
1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon juice [I usually just juice one lemon and see how much it gives me]

1 3/4 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup greek yogurt
1/3 cup applesauce
2-3 tablespoons chia seeds
1 teaspoon vanilla
zest of one lemon
18-24 blackberries

Preheat your oven to 325F. In the medium-sized bowl that you’re going to mix up your cupcakes in, zest your lemon.

In a glass measuring cup measure out 1/2 cup of almond milk and add the lemon juice. Let this sit for a few minutes.

Meanwhile add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt to your lemon zest bowl. Whisk it all together. Add the brown sugar. Warm the yogurt and applesauce so that they will not cause your [melted] coconut oil to harden and add all three to the bowl. Mix it well and then add your chia seeds. Add as many chia seeds as your want [since you’re not gelling them to be an egg replacer they’ll be like poppy seeds in your muffins so you’ll need to decide if you want a lot or a little]. Add in your vanilla and mix.

Fill your lined muffin cups 3/4 full. Place one blackberry in the middle of each cup (it will sink while baking). Bake 20-25 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. I store ours in the fridge and they are good for a couple days.

lemon blackberry muffins with chia [gluten-free and vegan]

lemon blackberry muffins with chia [gluten-free and vegan]

I know not everybody [hardly anybody?] requires their treats to be gluten-free or vegan. If that’s the case I’d try these muffins. They look quite divine.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Meal Plan & Blackberry Lemon Muffins

  1. mommalovescookin says:

    I am really excited about this recipe! We do not have any food allergies, but I am always trying to amp up nutrition for anything I give my kiddos, especially a treat or breakfast item! Cannot wait to try these, maybe Monday with some luck! Looking’ good!

hey you! leave a comment!

