Kid Art: Wood Bead Necklaces

I spotted this tutorial a while back on pinterest and knew my sweet girl would love it [and she did. So much].

It’s a pretty straight forward project: take some painter’s tape and tape off half of the bead. Pick out some colors. We used Martha Stewart’s paints [love]. Let ’em dry and string ’em up. We used waxed cotton cord. Easy peasy. And a fun project for about $5.

As with any kid art project, the true measure of success lies in the process and kid approval rating. Did she have a good time?

I don’t think she’s going to take it off anytime soon.

I wish this was a video so you could hear her adorable little voice saying, “And I painted here. And I painted here. And I painted here…”

And she asked me to make one with her. Um… yeah!

The paint we used dried really fast so this was a fun project that we were able to wrap up in one morning. I loved doing it with Lucy. I want to make sure she knows that art [even if it’s just coloring] isn’t just for kids. You’re never to old to get those creative juices flowing!

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Kid Art: Wood Bead Necklaces

  1. mommalovescookin says:

    Gonna hold on to this idea for Jo, pretty sure she would not be able to string the beads yet, but soon!

    • heybethbaker says:

      Lucy can do lacing activities but I had to string these for her because it was hard to push the cord through with the little shards of unfinished wood on the inside of the bead. Surprising [even though she’s a total do-it-herself-er] she didn’t mind me doing it for her.

hey you! leave a comment!

