Apple Pie Muffins

Muffins are a friend of mine. They’re portable. They remind me of cupcakes. And they’re the perfect snack. Muffins, for the win. These are some special muffins. These are the muffins that are going to make your house smell amazing. They’re vegan and gluten-free. I think they’re my new favorite.

Muffins are also a great place to start if you’re new to allergen-free or gluten-free baking. They’re a little more forgiving than cookies or breads.

Am I gushing? I kind of am. I actually had to freeze these after I made them because I ate four in a row and called it a taste test. I won’t keep you waiting any longer. Here we go!

Apple Cinnamon Muffins
inspired by Babycakes Apple Cinnamon Toastie
Makes 11-12 muffins

For the filling:
1 cup apples, peeled and diced
1/4 cup apple butter
1/4 cup apple juice
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

For the muffin:
1 cup garbanzo and fava bean flour
1/2 cup potato starch
1/4 cup arrowroot
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup apple butter
2 tablespoons vanilla
1 cup hot water

For the streusel:
2 tablespoons oat flour
4 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon butter [we use earth balance]
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

[If you don’t need your muffins to be gluten-free you could try using 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour in place of the bean flour, potato starch, and arrowroot. You can then omit the xanthan gum. I haven’t tried that yet because there’s a little miss here who takes big offense to baked goods she can’t eat. Maybe someone could let me know if they try it.]

Preheat your oven to 325 F. Line 11 muffin tins.

Dice the apples [it’s about an apple and a half] and put them in a small bowl. Mix up the apple butter, apple juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg and pour the mixture over the apples. Set aside.

In a medium bowl mix the garbanzo flour, potato starch, arrowroot, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt, cinnamon, and brown sugar. To the dry ingredients add the melted coconut oil, warmed apple butter, and hot water. Mix well. Add in the vanilla. Set aside.

Next, mix up your streusel topping. Put the flour, cinnamon, and brown sugar in a small bowl. Cut in the butter. Set aside.

Take a scoop of the muffin batter [maybe 1/8 of a cup] and mix it into the apple mix. Then scoop the muffin batter into your lined muffin tins. I like to fill my muffin tins up quite a bit so it only makes 11 muffins but if you try [if you care] I think you can stretch it to 12. After you’ve filled the muffin tins with the batter take a tablespoon to scoop your apple mixture and add it to the middle of the muffin tins. Do it for all 11 [or 12] muffins. Finally, sprinkle the top with the streusel.

Bake the muffins for 15 minutes, rotate and bake another 10-12 until a toothpick comes out clean.

Did the kiddies like them?

This sneaky little lovely snuck two off the cooling rack.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Apple Pie Muffins

  1. Yummy…. looking forward to your cooking :-) Love & miss you guys!!!!!! Love my pic :-)

  2. mommalovescookin says:

    I am going to make these for breakfast on Sunday, I think. Conveniently, I just bought 3 bags of apples to make applesauce, but think I can spare a few for muffins. Also, I will use whole wheat flour, so I will let you know how they turn out! Looking forward to it! i may even leave some of the apple peel on the apple like Panera’s Apple Crunch muffins.

hey you! leave a comment!

