Green Beans and Red Potatoes

So I’ve talked before about how it’s taken some time to make good [and tasty] food for dinner each night. Part of the problem was a complete lack of understanding about how to properly cook vegetables. My mom is kind of this mix between Paula Deen, Sandra Lee, and Ellie Krieger [if you know your Food Network personalities]. She has this unusual gift to seemingly always win. Everything she serves is delicious, with a little southern flair, it didn’t take the whole day for her to prepare, and it’s pretty healthy for me. [What’s up big shoes?]

After a few failed attempts to make things taste exactly like mom used to make, I gave up. Horribly. I just bought the canned veggies; all you have to do is reheat them. [Sigh.] Thankfully, I think, staying home with Lucy gave me lots of time to practice cooking veggies right. So I thought I’d share how we cook green beans. Maybe you’re a shark in the kitchen and the simpleness of this will make you smile, but that’s alright.

Green beans will serve you up Vitamins K, C, and A as well as some manganese and fiber. So it’ll help your cuts and bruises heal up, help your pms calm down, and do it’s part to keep cancer at bay. I love livestrong for a head’s up about what my veggies are giving back to me.

Let’s start the usual way: giving the fresh green beans a little bath in the sink. I like to take this opportunity to spray them with a veggie spray. While they’re soaking I fill a larger pot [usually my dutch oven] with water and get it boiling. After they’re clean you can take your knife and cut the ends off [or snap them off, whatev]. When they’re all trimmed it’s to the boiling water with a timer set for three minutes.

After the green beans have boiled for three minutes I pour them into a colander and use the same dutch oven to heat up some oil [usually either olive or coconut]. To the hot oil I’ll add a medium onion. As soon as it starts to turn translucent I’ll add a few minced garlic cloves and stir that for a minute or so. Add your green beans in next and let them saute until they’re as soft as you want. [Since I knew they were going to join up with some potatoes that had lemon juice I added some lemon juice at the end too. Made for each other. So romantic.]

So that’s how green beans come to life at the Baker house. But this week we wanted to make a meal of it so we added a starch. Red potatoes love green beans. They’ve got some carbs and fiber, but they’re kind of a vitamin and mineral storehouse. They’re rich in potassium, vitamin C, niacin, magnesium, iron and vitamin B6. Red potatoes are heart friendly; all that potassium is good for your ticker.

To prepare the red potatoes this time I made a vinaigrette of olive oil, the juice from half a lemon, ground mustard, dried dill, nutritional yeast, a tiny bit of thyme, salt, and pepper. I mixed it up a bit and coated the potatoes with it. I baked them at 450 for 15 minutes, gave them a little shuffle, and put them back in for 15 more.

[I’m sorry. Did I just lose you at nutritional yeast? That’s alright. It’s a great source of vitamin B12 and a lot of vegans love it because it adds a cheesy or nutty flavor. You can buy it for pretty cheap in the bulk bins at Whole Foods. Sneak it into your dishes and see how long it takes your family to notice. (Cat’s out of the bag, now)]

I really enjoyed this meal. You could really play with the taste by mixing up the vinaigrette. I think next time I might try something like this one because I really liked the mustard and green bean combo.

Tagged , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Green Beans and Red Potatoes

  1. Yum! My personal favorite way to do grean beans is to roast them with evoo and s and p. Sometimes I get a little crazy and roast them with garlic, sliced onions and mushrooms or garlic, minced ginger and red peppers. I have them in the fridge….what a great idea for dinner!

  2. I love nutritional yeast. I really need to use it more often. When I do, I’m always so excited about what it can add to a dish!

  3. I want to put nutritional yeast on EVERYTHING now.

  4. Little Sis says:

    Looks delicious. My wee ones are very resistant to things that are mixed, but because they love BOTH of these, I might be able to get away with it. THanks for sharing!

    • heybethbaker says:

      I usually leave things separate for the littles, but mostly because they’re restless to start eating before I have everything mixed up so they get their portions as soon as it’s cool enough to eat.

  5. Sam says:

    I just ate breakfast…. And now I’m hungry. I should time my reading better, like before I eat…. Geez. What’s your breakfast/ lunches look like? Do you meal plan those too?

    • heybethbaker says:

      We don’t plan our daily breakfasts and lunches but we have about four things that we cycle through. I have an oatmeal recipe that I eat a few mornings a week so I’ll share it soon.

  6. Niki says:

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  7. Song Cofield says:

    Thank you for another wonderful post. Where else could anybody get that kind of information in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

hey you! leave a comment!

