Kid Art: Anniversary Style

My parents are celebrating their 33rd anniversary on Friday! And they are crazy in love. Still. It is awesome. They are amazing grandparents for Lucy and Landon and I swear their favorite gift is something handmade [at least they tell me that to make me feel better]. So today we got out our favorite paints and away we went.

So the first thing I did was grab a sheet of nice, thick vellum paper. I took my trusty painter’s tape and taped out a heart [my inspiration was the idea of a heart carved into a tree]. I then took some scrapbook numbers [the really thick ones] and used a glue stick to put those on. The variations on design options are endless! Just make sure whatever you’re using is thick enough to not allow the paint to bleed through and really press down the edges [live and learn].

Then, I let Lucy get to work. I told her we were going to do an art project and it involved paint and she literally peed her pants with excitement [literally]. So that’s a win.

Here’s an easy tip for kid artwork that you can work into your home’s aesthetic: limit paint colors and use quality supplies. Pick colors that work well together and, depending on the look you’re going for, either blend together or contrast really well.

I wanted this piece to have some texture to it so I gave her every paintbrush we have. She loved the choices and used every one.

I want to be honest here and tell you that not everything going on during the art was beautiful. If you wait to do projects until the house is clean, or even picked up, then you may never do it. Sometimes you just have to set the bad aside and focus on the good [the great!]. But, seriously, that apple is grossing me out. Toddlers are gross.

After about 45 minutes [the kid really loves art] she pronounced she was all done, asked me to put on the beast song [from Beauty and the Beast], and danced shirtless in the living room.

So, here’s the key to success for this project: the bench scraper. Take it and very gently [the paper is likely to be wet] scrap off the excess paint. Scrape in different directions so that you’re adding some visual interest. Be careful around the design you’ve made on the paper. You don’t want to scrape paint under your numbers or scrape off your tape. [This is an important step because you don’t want to have thick goopy paint that either won’t dry or will try to bleed into your white space.]

Yeah, there’s a bit of a mess afterwards. Art is messy. Messy is good [in this case]. Now you can gently pull off your tape and numbers and hang the masterpiece up to dry. This is super fun for the kids to watch but I had to do it for Lucy because we were doing it when the paint was still a little wet and the tape did stick to the wet paper a little. We did get to have a nice little chat about negative space in art, though.

Then you get to pass along the love. And listen to your kiddo tell Daddy about Mimi’s heart when he gets home from work.

Happy anniversary Mimi and Poppa!

p.s. I am so pumped about sharing this week’s meal plan and how we spend our food budget money! So look forward to that on Friday!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Kid Art: Anniversary Style

  1. Poppa & Mimi says:

    Awwwwww…. I think my heart just exploded from all the LOVE I felt as I watch Lucy paint this…… We honestly do LOVE homemade gifts from our beautiful grandbabies…. We are so blessed!!!!! Love you guys!!!

  2. Poppa & Mimi says:

    AWWWWWWW… I think my heart just exploded from ALL the LOVE I felt as I watched Lucy make this master piece….. We honestly do LOVE the home made gifts from our precious grand babies (just like we loved the ones you guys made us when you were little)… Thank you for the beautiful Anniversary gift… We will treasure it FOREVER!!!! Love you guys!

  3. Melonnie Murphy says:

    This was a great idea. Thank you for showing the messy house too. I am one of those people who can’t play until all the work is done. I need to remember that does not apply at home (all the time). We will be trying this next week!!

hey you! leave a comment!

