An Homage To Friendship

Do you ever have something going on in your life that feels so big, and yet life continues on unnoticed for the folks around you? Today feels a little like that for me.

The small group we lead at our church is multiplying ['cause it's too big-- yay!] and tonight is the last night we will be all together.  We’ve been sending lots of prayers up for our friends who will begin to lead the new group. It’s something to celebrate, for sure.  But, it’s got me feeling a little nostalgic for the friends we won’t get to see [at least] twice a week, every week.  If ever there was a time to use the ‘firstworldproblems’ hashtag… Break out the violins, folks– I’m feeling weepy!

friendship2

[Oh my gosh I just put this picture here and Lucy pointed every one out and said, "Oh, I love our friends." The living room just got duuuuusty.]

I’ve learned a lot about friendship in the last few years. Previously, I hate to admit, I thought friends were people you called when you had extra time or needed extra hands. But years lived in solid community has vastly changed that. We aren’t meant to live solitary lives– especially if our aim is to live Christ-honoring lives.

Without counsel plans fail, but with many advisers they succeed. [Proverbs 15:22]

friendship1

So thank you friends for attending every birthday party.

friendship3

For being completely awesome.

friendship6

For showering us with love.

friendship5

For sweating with us.

friendship4

For joining in so many adventures and giving us so many memories.

IMG_0637

And thanks for sharing in our lives so deeply that you’ve successfully and forever blurred the lines between friends and family.

A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.
[Proverbs 18:24]

So thanks, for nostalgia’s sake, for letting me share this. My life has forever been altered by the community we’ve been blessed with by our local church. For the vulnerability it’s created in us to open our lives to those around us, so that we can grow together, love each other, and spread the love of Christ.

4 thoughts on “An Homage To Friendship

  1. nataliemma says:

    Beautiful. Do you go to New City Church?

  2. Nat – we go to CityLights Church

    I think these “framily” commercials from Sprint some up small group community well. (except for “creepy Jeff.” We don’t have one of those.) :)

  3. Amy Mcclung says:

    Hey Beth you don’t know me I’m good friends with your sister Kristy. I was heartbroken last year when she moved away. You can ask her I was a mess crying all the time yet so happy for her answered prayer:). I can tell you now a year later God knew my heart he has sent me so many new friends. I’m so blessed to have so many Christian moms as my friends. I’m going to visit your sister in 4 weeks:) can’t wait!! I’ve learned that we will be friends forever and I won’t be shedding any tears this trip:).

hey you! leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

