Kimchi Cauliflower Fried Rice

20140424-212106.jpg

Has everyone jumped aboard the cauliflower fried rice train? I tried this recipe last year and was hooked. I love to leave the cauliflower in the skillet for a little while to get some crispy bits (anybody with me?). The only thing that disappoints me is that I want more flavor with the dish. [We have to leave the eggs out of our fried rice for allergy reasons and it leaves me feeling like something is lacking.]

So inspired by the flavor divinity of the fantastic Seoul Taco, I decided to add some kimchi to our fried rice. Woah. Don’t be scared by the idea of fermented cabbage; both of the kiddos gobbled it up.

To make this dish, I mostly followed the recipe mentioned above (though I don’t use the grapeseed oil and I do add some toasted sesame oil in at the end). I switched the veggies to carrots and edamame, since that’s what I had on hand. I wanted to add some chicken to the dish so I split the cooking into thirds. I did my cauliflower first, then I sautéed the chopped veggies, and finally I threw the kimchi in with a can of chicken. Don’t judge the canned chicken part. Do find quality chicken that is only chicken, water, and salt. It’s a super time saver [for which I am in desperate need]. Throwing it in with the kimchi gave it an amazing flavor. It only took a couple minutes for those two to heat up and share some spice.

Overall the dish was quick(ish… Using the food processor to chop the cauliflower into rice certainly adds a step). But since I cooked it in thirds I was able to only dirty one pan to cook it in and a big bowl to incorporate it all together.

Tagged , , ,

hey you! leave a comment!