Real Food Breakfasts

This is the post where I gross my sister out. Just kidding, sort of. You see, we’re on diametric sides of the oatmeal spectrum. My sister likes her oatmeal thick. She likes to be able to hold it upside down without a shift. I, on the other hand, like a soupy oatmeal [I'm not even offended if you call it slop]. She likes her oatmeal with a little maple syrup and brown sugar. I like mine fancied up like a toddler in a dress up closet. If it’s good, put it on. So during our summer vacation I enjoyed grossing her out every morning with my soupy, smells like a sandwich oatmeal. Yum! If you like a soupier oatmeal [or are willing to give it a try]: read on.

Start yourself off with some thick-rolled oats. Go in two parts water for one part oatmeal. So if you make a 1/4 cup of oatmeal add 1/2 a cup of water. Sprinkle on a little salt and put it in the microwave. If it’s 1/4 of a cup of oatmeal or more I cook it for three minutes. Anything less and I cook it for two and a half. I should mention, because I love you, that thick-rolled oats [besides taking a little longer in the microwave] bubble up a lot more than your standard quick oat while cooking. I make mine in a mixing bowl and eat them cave-man style every morning.

So these are a few of my favorite things: sunflower seeds [unsalted and roasted myself], a handful of walnuts, a tablespoon of peanut butter, a teaspoon of maple syrup, and as much almond milk to make it as creamy as you can handle. Add another little pinch of salt and you are on your way to oatmeal dreamboat city [population: you].

You can totally tell me if soupy oatmeal weirds you out. I won’t judge you. More soupy oatmeal for me. And because it’s my favorite meal of the day I decided to do a little breakfast round-up of goodness from around the internet.

1. Apples and Cinnamon Quinoa
2. Apple Pancakes
3. Lemon Blackberry Muffins [I leave out the ginger, cut down on the flax, and add chia like they're poppy seeds]
4. Kath Eats Real Food Tribute to Oatmeal
5. Warm and Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa
6. Polka Dot Banana Bread [Makes great muffins, too.]
7. Very Vanilla Vegan Pancakes

I LOVE BREAKFAST! Such an important meal. Anybody else have any favorite breakfasts to add?

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Real Food Breakfasts

  1. Jessica says:

    Oh my goodness, Beth. I love reading your blog!!! (shhhh, don’t tell my blog….it may get jealous!) It has that shiny, new blog smell to it. ;) Keep up the good work, girlfriAoupyend!

    As far as real breakfasts, my kids love oatmeal. And they also enjoy it prepared a la Team Soupy. When Jonathan was little and we were trying to get his weight up, we put Sunbutter and flax in his oatmeal to get good fat and calories in him. Not they eat it with dried cranberries and honey. Unless we’re at Cracker Barrel, and then he puts 10 packs of grape jam in it (gag, but it’s literally the only breakfast menu item he can have!)

    My choices range from avocado halves drizzled with honey to crushed mixed nuts and seeds with dried fruit and coconut milk (paleo cereal!) I love cereal, but I know I’d go through a box every other day, so I just don’t eat it very often. :)

  2. Your loving sister :) says:

    Soupy oatmeal is still gross. 1/2 cup oats, 5/8 cup of milk (Yes, 5/8, no more, no less) microwave 1 1/2 minutes, then add 1 teaspoon of muscovado light brown sugar, a dash of vanilla, a little sea salt and plenty of cinnamon. Now, that’s how you make oatmeal! ;) Love you!

  3. mommalovescookin says:

    Ok, so I am not on the soupy train, or the thick train. I fall somewhere in the middle. I am loving pumpkin oatmeal right now … creamy, cinnamony, warm yumminess! I use pumpkin puree, and make enough to have left for another day. I used the recipe from allrecipes, and used half maple syrup, half brown sugar. It was a little sweet, so next time I plan to cut back on both the brown sugar and maple syrup. It tasted like pumpkin pie with oats mixed in…so FALL!

hey you! leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

