[Vegan] Chocolate Chip Cookies

Lucy’s pretty good at coming up with excuses to not go to bed.
“Mooooooooooooommy, my nose is running again.”
“Mooooooooooooommy, tuck me tight.”

So this is not me complaining about that [because I can't. It's real cute].

Last night Chuck came back from checking on her for the last time [she really held out] and said, “Um, I told Lucy you’d bake cookies with her tomorrow. That’s all she wanted.” I thought for sure she’d forget about it. I mean she’s 2.75, right?! But sure enough we only made it to 10:30 a.m. before I heard, “Mommy, I want to cook cookies.” I told her we would in a little while [let's get baby brother to nap first, right?!]. To which she responds, “Mommy, Daddy told me you would cook cookies with me.” Woah. Woah, woah, woah.

Bravo, LuLu. Bravo.

So I thought I’d share our very favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. It’s the only cookie recipe I’m brave enough to share with our allergy-free & non-vegan friends.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie
Makes 12-13 cookies

1 & 3/4 c oat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/8 c brown sugar (I measure it out 1/4 + 1/8)
3/8 c white sugar
2 tablespoons apple butter
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 & 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 c almond milk
1/2 c chocolate chips

In a medium bowl, whisk together the oat flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside. In another bowl, cream the sugars with the apple butter, add the coconut oil and vanilla. Add the coconut oil mixture to the dry ingredients and combine. It will be very dry. Add the almond milk (and more if needed) and mix well. Stir in the chocolate chips. Line your baking sheet with parchment. Scoop out 1 tablespoon portions and place at least an inch apart [use a cookie scoop and make pretty, uniform cookies]. Bake at 375 degrees F for 12 minutes [you may only need 10 minutes, my oven is a slow cooker]. Let them cool on the sheet for 5 minutes and then serve. Mmm.

A vegan cookie dough that doesn’t spread to accidental lace cookies. Yes.

These are really our go-to cookie. If we want oatmeal chocolate chip I add about 3/4 c of oatmeal and increase the milk to a little more than 1/4 c. Those are a bit more “meaty”. But these, these are the cookies I’ll serve you and then later, when you ask what’s in them, spill the beans. No, they don’t taste like they have butter and eggs in them. Yes, they are delicious.

So Lucy had a great time helping me bake these. I usually measure out ingredients and she pours it into the bowl. We have to wear our matching pink and brown polka dot aprons [it is offensive to her if I suggest otherwise]. About halfway through the recipe [usually as soon as I bring the sugar out] she asks when she gets the bowl. So here’s a gratuitous picture of Lucy eating cookie dough.

And if you were wondering what Landon was doing [and does every time the oven light is on].

Anyone who wants to caption that in the comments has my hearty consent.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “[Vegan] Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Jessica says:

    Yum! We will have to try these!

    And here’s my caption contribution:
    Pic 1- are they done yet?
    Pic 2- are they done yet?
    Pic 3- they’re not done yet…
    Pic 4- crap!

  2. Aunt Lana says:

    I probably am going to try these myself. They really are a pretty cookie.

  3. Aunt Lana says:

    I loved Jessica’s captions!! Laughed out loud!

  4. “Cookies?! Are these real? They’re vegan? Aww, mannn…” These captions are for fun, only. The cookies really are tasty. That’s just most pepple’s reaction if Beth tells them before eating.

  5. Update: Beth made these on her new baking stone last week and took ‘me up another notch!

hey you! leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

